2020 Agent for the Future™ Award

Liberty Mutual and Safeco Insurance are proud to announce the winners of the third annual Agent for the Future award, celebrating the most forward-looking and digitally savvy independent agencies. Congratulations to the ten agencies that earned the coveted Agent for the Future title! 

Meet the Winners
Winners revealed

In a year of unexpected challenges and uncertain market conditions, future-looking agents are approaching adversity with a sense of growth and innovation.

The winning agencies did just that: They cultivated new capabilities, accelerated their digital presence and pivoted to find new ways to attract and retain customers.  

Congratulations to the ten agencies that earned the coveted Agent for the Future title!  

Find out who won. Apply for a 2020 Agent for the Future™ Award 2

The AFTF award was open to all independent insurance agencies and brokers that sell personal lines or small commercial and are based in North America. Entrants were not required to be authorized to write business with Liberty Mutual or Safeco Insurance.

Thank you to all the agencies that applied! If you are interested in staying up-to-date on the latest from Agent for the Future, including receiving a notification when applications open again next year, be sure to sign up for the AFTF mailing list.

Why Enter?
Winning Agencies Will Receive

$5,000 cash prize

All 10 winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize to put toward an innovation or agency growth project. Winning agencies will have full autonomy over which project they select and how they implement the project, with support from the exclusive mastermind group. From hiring a marketer to testing out a new digital ad strategy or building a new analytics tool – the possibilities are endless.


Both the national and emerging leader award winners will be featured in the January edition of Rough Notes. All award winners will be profiled on AgentfortheFuture.com, in a press release and through supporting promotional efforts.

The limited-edition trophy and bragging rights don’t hurt, either.

Entry into an exclusive mastermind group

New to the 2020 award program, AFTF award winners will gain entry into an exclusive mastermind group. This group will include fellow award winners as well as innovation and growth experts across digital marketing, agency management and technology. The mastermind group will span 6-months with several guest speakers, one-on-one trainings and group discussions to support winners in implementing their agency growth or innovation project.


Application Guide

Insights on what makes a great application
Get the Guide

Join the Mailing List

Get notified when applications open in 2021
Sign Up


Email us with any questions you may have
Contact Us


National and Regional Awards

Being an Agent for the Future means a lot of things, but perhaps nothing more imperative than the ability to adapt to changing market conditions. In 2020, an Agent for the Future is deeply digital and facing the challenges of today’s world head on.

A true Agent for the Future is data-driven, omni-channel, and iterative. They are trying new technologies and exploring new avenues for growth, all while keeping a personal touch. They are meeting customers where they’re at today and anticipating the customer needs of tomorrow.

These agencies embody three critical qualities: innovation, creativity and impact.

One National Agent for the Future award will be presented to the agency that best demonstrates these qualities. Eight additional Regional award winners will be celebrated, based on their region.

Emerging Leader Award

A new category in 2020, the Emerging Leader demonstrates many of the same qualities as an Agent for the Future: innovation, creativity and impact. What separates an Emerging Leader is their unconventional path to building and growing their business.

This agency may be in the early stages of their journey to becoming an Agent for the Future, are operating a non-traditional agency, have overcome adversity, or are breaking down barriers. They are the face of a new wave of insurance agencies and have a unique story to tell.

Meet the Judges

Tyler's Open Letter

Tyler Asher

President of independent agent distribution at Liberty Mutual and Safeco Insurance
Apply for a 2020 Agent for the Future™ Award! 1

Claudia McClain

Founder of McClain Insurance Services and former AFTF award regional winner
Apply for a 2020 Agent for the Future™ Award! 2

Dave Willis, CPIA

Editor-in-Chief of Rough Notes magazine